ETMods.net

N!tmod, a Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory Modification!

You are not logged in.

Announcement

You can donate to help us keeping services online.

#1 07-Dec-13 15:42:43

NoHero

Simple script makes me embarrassed

Since i was testing some server settings on a local server, i thought it be a good time to get to grips with lua scripting. Im no novice at programming and feel ashamed i cant get this little code to work >:[

Can anyone take a look at this and tell me if anything is wrong:

function et_InitGame(levelTime,randomSeed,restart)
	et.RegisterModname("test")
	et.trap_SendServerCommand(-1, "print \"This is a game start message\n\"")
end

function et.ClientCommand( clientNum, command )
	command = string.lower(command)
	if (command == "testcmd") then
		et.trap_SendServerCommand(clientNum, "print \"This is a test cmd\n\"")
		return 1
	end
	return 0
end

/lua_status shows the module loaded, but i always get Unknown Command when i got /testcmd
I have searched and read through many scripts of others, but still cannot figure out where im going wrong. Side note is there a way to debug lua scripts loaded by the mod?

#2 07-Dec-13 19:00:36

ailmanki
BETA Tester
Website

Re: Simple script makes me embarrassed

If I am not mistaken, as I have not tested it...

you have only one small error,
function et.ClientCommand( clientNum, command )
needs to be
function et_ClientCommand( clientNum, command )

I can see why that is confusing.. smile as some commands go with et.*
But basically all function which do use from et go with et_*

b_350_20_692108_381007_FFFFFF_000000.pngb_350_20_692108_381007_FFFFFF_000000.png

#3 07-Dec-13 20:44:28

NoHero

lol HAHAHAAAA wow thanks man big_smile

I think i copied that from someone elses code snippet, work now with the change.